Press Releases

Hugh Aynesworth Awards for Excellence in Journalism Moves to Irving Convention Center Dec. 1

August 22, 2018
Irving Convention Center
Credit: Irving Convention Center and Visitors Bureau

DALLAS, TX – Aug. 15, 2018 – The Press Club of Dallas Board of Directors announced expanded categories for the Second Annual Hugh Aynesworth Awards for Excellence in Journalism. The awards ceremony will be held in the Irving Convention Center Dec. 1.

The awards will reward work completed by Texas journalists in 2017. The first deadline for submissions is Aug. 31. After that, the cost to enter will increase from $25 to $30. Click here for category descriptions Reporting Categories for Hugh Aynesworth Awards.

The Aynesworth awards are named for veteran reporter and long-time Press Club member Hugh Aynesworth, a four-time Pulitzer Prize finalist for investigative reporting. Aynesworth has been a highly respected journalist for over 65 years for newspapers, magazines, books and broadcasting, including Newsweek and ABC’s 2020.

Following the success of the inaugural Aynesworth Awards, incoming Press Club President Cory Smith said this year’s awards have expanded to feature even more categories. New categories, outlined in this release, include public service, editorial opinion, criticism, and lifestyles reporting.

Submissions for the Aynesworth Awards will be judged by a distinguished panel of journalists who live and work outside of Texas. The finalists and category winners will be honored at the Dec. 1 awards ceremony.

Paul Wahlstrom, Chairman of the Aynesworth Awards, said, “It is an honor to help recognize, at this critical time, the best in Texas journalism with this event named for the true legend, Hugh Aynesworth.”

Click here for an updated entry form or more information: Entry form for submissions to Hugh Aynesworth Journalism Awards.

Background on Hugh Aynesworth 

As the only person known to witness the assassination of John F. Kennedy, the capture of Lee Harvey Oswald at the Texas Theater, and the fatal shooting of Oswald by Jack Ruby beneath Dallas Police Headquarters, Aynesworth traced Oswald’s escape route, had the first print interview with Marina Oswald and obtained Lee Oswald’s Russian Diaries.

Aynesworth is currently writing two books, and working on two upcoming documentaries: a six-part Netflix series of an alleged serial killer, and the other on convicted serial killer, Ted Bundy. He authored November 22, 1963: Witness to History, and co-authored four books with Stephen G. Michaud, including two books on serial killer Ted Bundy, The Only Living Witness and the New York Times best-seller, Conversations With a Killer.

His diligent and tireless efforts to determine whether there was any truth to the many conspiracy rumors behind the JFK assassination established him as an authority on this unique and tragic moment in American history.

Background on Hugh Aynesworth Awards and Press Club of Dallas

Presented to Texas journalists and their organizations for outstanding investigative and enterprise reporting during the 2017 calendar year, the second annual Hugh Aynesworth Excellence in Journalism Awards is open to all Texas journalists and their news outlets in the following categories: Daily and weekly newspapers, television stations, radio stations, magazines, and digital sites.

The Press Club values the development and protection of journalism. Originally formed in 1948, the Press Club of Dallas is a dynamic organization of journalists and professional communicators in North Texas, committed to promoting the discipline of journalism, communication, literacy, current affairs, and First Amendment freedoms. Journalists, communications professionals, and students are eligible to join the organization.

Categories for the Hugh Aynesworth Awards for Excellence in Journalism include:

Public Service Award, Investigative Reporting, Breaking News Reporting, Feature Reporting, Opinion, Editorial Opinion, Criticism, Lifestyles reporting, Sports reporting, Photography/Videography, and Feature photography/videography.

The 2017 Hugh Aynesworth Award Winners for 2016 work produced are listed below:

  • Daily newspaper investigative reporting – Miles Moffeit and Sue Ambrose, The Dallas Morning News, Dec. 2, 2016: Bled Dry: How hospitals fall victim to fraudsters, felons and profiteers
  • Television investigative reporting – NBC5/KXAS TV DFW Reporter – Scott Friedman; investigative producer – Eva Parks; photographer – Peter Hull; law enforcement expert – Don Peritz Big Buses, Bigger Problems, first reporting in a continuing series aired Oct. 4, 2016
  • Radio Investigative reporting – KERA, Dallas Reporter: Lauren Silverman, Pastoral Medicine Credentials Raise Questions in Texas, April 6, 2016
  • Magazine investigative reporting – Fort Worth Magazine Reporter – Sean ChaffinTarrant County Cold Cases Await Evidence, Witnesses, December Issue 2016
  • Digital news site investigative reporting – The Arlington Voice Reporter – Mike McGee, City, mum on alleged police quota system, refusing document releases, July 21, 2016
  • Daily newspaper feature reporting – Austin American-Statesman Reporter – Phil Jankowski, A Rambler’s Life, Dec. 1, 2016
  • Weekly newspaper feature reporting – Howe Enterprise Reporter – Monte Walker, EF1 Tornado; EF5 Community, May 2, 2016
  • Radio feature reporting – KSTX, San Antonio Public Radio Reporter Paul Flahive. Ease In Anti-Overdose Drug Access Leads to More Lives Saved, June 24, 2016
  • Daily newspaper feature photography – Austin American-Statesman Photographer –Jay Janner, South by Southwest Austin Music Festival, Dec. 20, 2016
  • Daily newspaper feature photography – Robert Moore, Dallas Photographer Shielded by Police Officer during Shooting Captures the Moment, July 7, 2016
For more information please visit or call 214-269-4244.
Bring more Trust, Truth and Transparency into your life. The Press Club of Dallas is a tax-exempt, 501(c)(3) organization. For more information go to, email us, or call 214-269-4244 with any questions you may have.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *