Press Releases

10th Legends of North Texas Journalism

May 26, 2022

Efforts Underway for 10th Legends of North Texas Journalism Awards

DALLAS – March 26, 2022 – The Press Club of Dallas has begun preliminary work to bring back the Legends of North Texas Journalism, the industry’s prestigious lifetime excellence award.  Thanks to financial support from the Dallas Press Club Foundation, a committee of pastLegends will consider new inductees. A Fall ceremony is being planned. The last Legends event was held on May 18, 2019.   

2019 Legends of North Texas Journalism

Legends of North Texas Journalism

2019 winners:Rick Gosselin, Jim Schutze, Karen Borta, Ellen Kampinsky, Eric Nadel, Bill Young,Wes Turner, and Rick Wamre.

2018 winners: Charean Williams,Shaun Rabb, Sam Baker, Jacquielynn Floyd, John Sparks, David Woo, George Getschow, Mercedes Olivera (posthumous), and Marty Haag (posthumous).

2017 winners: Harold Taft (posthumous); Dale Hansen; Byron Harris; John Jenkins; Yolette Garcia; Norm Hitzges; Tom Joyner; Janet St. James; Bill Mack;John Lumpkin; Mike Blackman; Bill DeOre; and Jeffrey Weiss.

2016 winners: Norma Adams-Wade, Fil Alvarado, Sandra Brown, Steve Blow,David Finfrock, Randy Galloway, Jeff Guinn, JoAnn Holt, Sylvia Komatsu, John McCaa, Bob Phillips, Mike Rhyner, and David Webb.

2015 winners: Helen Bryant Anders, B.J. Austin, Sam Blair, BeckyMunoz-Diaz, Mollie Finch-Belt, Dan Jenkins, David McHam, Bob Mong, Robert Moore, George Riba, Bob Ray Sanders, Brad Sham, and Clarice Tinsley.

2014 winners: John Anders, Gloria Campos, Iola Johnson, Judy Jordan, John Miller, Scott Murray, Darwin Payne, Walter Robertson, Cissy Stewart, and Bob Welch.

2013 winners: Al Carrell, Lee Cullum, Jimmy Darnell, Troy Dungan, Dottie Griffith, Jim Henderson, Lana Henderson, Suzie Humphries, Will Jarrett, and Bob Porter.

2012 winners: Carolyn Barta, Clarence Bruyere, Bob Compton, Bill Evans, Frank Luksa, Burl Osborne, Rena Pederson, Bob St. John, Joe Laird, Tracy Rowlett, and Karen Hughes.

2011 winners: Hugh Aynesworth, Eddie Barker, Kent Biffle, Alex Burton, Vivian Castleberry, Ron Chapman, Mike Cochran, Jim Ewell, John Gudjohnsen,Bert Holmes, Helen Holmes, Bob Huffaker, Shelly Katz, Ralph Langer, Jimmy Lovell, Phil Magers, Bill Mercer, Bob Miller, Blackie Sherrod, Bert Shipp,Carlton Stowers, Dick Wheeler, Wes Wise, Bobbie Wygant, and Tony Zoppi.

2011 Legends

2011 Legends

Net proceeds from the event will benefit the mission of the Press Club of Dallas, providing scholarships for students to Texas colleges and universities and supporting the operations of the Press Club.

About the Press Club of Dallas: 

The Dallas Press Club is a tax exempt,501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, founded in 1948 with the mission to support journalism in all its forms. The Dallas chapter produces events to support the mission of the Press Club, including raising scholarship funds for North Texas students. The Press Club of Dallas is an evolving organization of journalists,public relations practitioners, and affiliated professionals in the North Texas region, committed to promoting the fundamental tenets of communication,journalism and First Amendment freedoms. For more information please visit:

About the Dallas Press Club Foundation

For years the Dallas Press Club Foundation managed the scholarship initiatives of the Press Club.  The Foundation is now astand-alone entity. Years ago it formed a relationship with the Communities Foundation of Texas for investment purposes and for the administration of the scholarship program.

For more information please email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *