Off the Record PCD News

Excellence in Journalism: North Texas Legends nominations open

March 9, 2015

Thursday, May 21st, will mark our 5th, Legends celebration. The event will be held at the Sixth Floor Museum so please mark your calendars. Your host committee, Hugh Aynesworth, Cary Broussard, David Dunnigan and Janie Loveless has been hard at work, and they need your help.

This year’s Excellence in Journalism: North Texas Legends is open for nominees and your input is necessary so we assure a diverse selection.

Award selection criteria include:

  • A nominee will have worked in the Dallas/Ft. Worth news media market for at least 10 years.
  • A nominee may be currently employed or actively retired.
  • A nominees name, media outlet, and experience will be recognizable to his/ her contemporaries.
  • A nominee continues to reside in Texas.

From the selections we receive, up to ten Excellence in Journalism nominees will be selected by a panel of five judges; composed of long standing Press Club Members and/or former board members.

Please send your nominations to the committee co-chairs, Hugh Aynesworth ( and Cary Broussard (, by March 23.

To date award winners include:

John Anders, Gloria Campos, Iola Johnson, Judy Jordan, John Miller, Scott Murray, Darwin Payne, Walter Robertson, Cissy Stewart and Bob Welch.

Prior years:

Carolyn Barta, Eddie Barker, Kent Biffle, Clarence Bruyere, Alex Burton, Al Carrell, Vivian Castleberry, Ron Chapman, Mike Cochran,, Bob Compton, Lee Cullum, Jimmy Darnell,

Troy Dunigan, Bill Evans, Jim Ewell, Dottie Griffith, John Gudjohnsen,, Jim Henderson, Lana Henderson, Bert Holmes, Helen Holmes, Bob Huffaker, Suzy Humphries, Will Jarrett, Shelly Katz, Joe Laird, Ralph  Langer,

Jimmy Lovell, Frank Luksa, Phil Magers, Bill Mercer, Bob Miller, Burl Osborne, Rena Pederson, Bob Porter, Bob St. John, Blackie Sherrod, Bert Shipp, Carlton Stowers, Dick Wheeler, Wes Wise, Bobby Wygant, Tony Zoppi, Hugh Aynesworth and Karen Hughs.

Thank you in advance for your input.

Niki McCuistion