Your Board of Directors

President – Paul Wahlstrom

Paul is past president of the Press Club of Dallas Board (2011-12), board member (1998-2000), and a member since mid 1990’s.
Paul, a retired television producer, was previously executive producer, Irving Community Television Network, from 1981-2008 with 150 national awards, and video freelancer in the New York City area from 1975-1981. Paul is a graduate of the University of Denver.

Board of Directors:

Hughee Awards

Hugh Aynesworth

Hugh Aynesworth has been a journalist for more than 65 years, a member of the Press Club of Dallas since 1960. He has worked at both The Dallas News and Dallas Times Herald — as well as Newsweek, The Washington Times, United Press International, The Arkansas Gazette and ABC News (20/20).

A winner of more than 80 local, state and national awards (including an Emmy last year for a documentary featuring 27 persons connected with the JFK assassination.) he is a former president of the club and onetime president of the Texas chapter of Sigma Delta Chi.

Zane Harrington

A communications specialist at VisitDallas, Zane Harrington promotes Dallas as an ideal leisure destination. He works to create, develop, and maintain public relations strategies and relationships with local clients, reporters, and partners. Zane serves as a main point-person for domestic media requests.

A graduate of Baylor University with a BBA in Brand Engagement and Music and Entertainment Marketing, he began his career as a CBS News press office intern in New York City, working with top publicists and CBS News executives, and returned to Dallas to become an account executive at A. Larry Ross Communications before joining VisitDallas.

Barry Hoffman

Barry Hoffman is a journalist, editor and communications executive with more than 50 years’ experience in wire service, print and broadcast news. He’s a Dallas native and spent his entire journalism career in the Northeast. He moved back to Dallas eight years ago. He is a partner and the founding editor of the HealthDay News Service, the world’s largest daily health and medical news service with more than 2,000 business clients.

He is a partner and the founding editor of the HealthDay News Service, the world’s largest daily health and medical news service with more than 2,000 business clients.

During his 50+ years in news, Hoffman has worked as a reporter and/or editor for a number of major news organizations, including the New York Herald Tribune, WNEW Radio in New York City, and the United Press International Audio Network news service, He has held top editorial and general management positions with Gannett and Times Mirror and is a past president of the New York State Associated Press Association.

He is also an instructor at Brookhaven College, teaching a Continuing Education course about the effect of the Internet and social media on newspapers and the role of journalism in our society.

News staffs under Hoffman’s direction have won more than 300 national and regional awards, including the national Headliner’s Award for public service, Associated Press Managing Editors award for in-depth reporting, and The Society of Professional Journalists award for enterprise reporting.

Hoffman is a Vietnam veteran, serving as a broadcast specialist and combat reporter for U.S. Army headquarters and the Armed Forces Network in 1968 and 1969.

Keri Mitchell

Keri is is an Advocate editor and reporter, and also an East Dallas resident and parent of a student at Dallas ISD’s Mata Montessori.

June Owens

June is an Instructor of Radio, Television & Film with the Tarrant County College District.

Matt Thomas

Matt Thomas is a veteran former journalist who now serves as the Communications Director for Downtown Dallas, Inc. Matt worked as a broadcast journalist in Dallas/Fort Worth for more than a decade.  His career started right out of high school with internships at two radio stations, including WBAP.  He then moved to New York City, where he attended college and spent time interning at some of the biggest radio stations and network news operations in the country.  Matt returned to North Texas, where he continued his broadcast career as an airborne traffic reporter and news anchor at several DFW radio stations.  He later accepted a position as a full-time street reporter and anchor at NewsRadio 740 KTRH in Houston.  There, he covered several high-profile stories, including all the Enron fraud and conspiracy trial, the Andrea Yates murder retrial, and Hurricanes Rita and Katrina.  Matt spent weeks covering the aftermath of Katrina by providing live reports to listeners from New Orleans.

He returned to North Texas more than a decade ago to accept a position at KRLD radio and the Texas State Radio Network.  Matt’s street reporting, anchoring, and leadership skills in his more than a decade at the station resulted in numerous Texas Associated Press Broadcasters and Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards for excellence in journalism.  Most recently, he was named “Best Reporter” by the Texas AP Broadcasters and he received the prestigious Charles E. Green award by the Headliners Foundation of Texas for his on-scene coverage of the deadly attack on police officers in Dallas in July 2016.

Matt grew up in the Denton area, and outside work is passionate about golf, the Texas Rangers, and animal rescue operations in North Texas.  For the past several years, he has helped emcee the annual “Basset Shuffle” event benefitting North Texas Basset Hound Rescue.  In addition to two rescue dogs, Matt has a wife and toddler who are the joys of his life.

Bill Young

Bill is Vice President of Television Programming for KERA 13.  He is responsible for selecting and developing programming.

Young has been named Programmer of the Year by the Public Television Programmer’s Association in 1994 and 2000.