Annual Meeting
Press Releases

Press Club Announces New Officers, Directors and Student Scholarship Winners

August 18, 2017

New Board Scholarship Winners, 2017

August 16, 2017 – Dallas, TX – Scott Goldstein, 2016-17 Press Club of Dallas president, installed the 2017-18 Press Club Board of Directors tonight at the Club’s annual meeting held at the KERA/KXT Dallas offices. In addition, Goldstein announced the scholarship winners of the Press Club of Dallas Foundation Fund, administered by Communities Foundation of Texas.

2017-18 New Officers and Board Members include:

President, Cary J. Broussard, Broussard Global Communications, CEO, author

President- elect, Cory J. Smith, NBC 5 reporter/anchor

Treasurer, Tristan R. Hallman, Dallas Morning News reporter

Secretary, Kevin Farrell, Door, director of marketing

New and Returning Board Members include:

Hugh Aynesworth, investigative reporter, author

Ayona Anderson, principal and founder, EJP Marketing Co.

Lauren Reed Finegan, social and events manager, Le Meridien Dallas, the Stoneleigh

Scott Goldstein, chief of policy/communications for Dallas Mayor Michael S. Rawlings

Barry Hoffman, editor, Health Day News Service

Jo Ann Holt Caussey, freelance writer

Scott Keenan, southern bureau chief, CBS News

Frank Librio, chief marketing officer, Visit Dallas

Angela Madison, freelance digital editor

Martha Tiller, founder/CEO, Martha Tiller Public Relations

The Press Club of Dallas Foundation Scholarship Fund also announced two college scholarships awarded to Dallas area students for the upcoming, academic 2017-18 school year.

  • A $5,000 scholarship was awarded to Pablo Arauz, a journalism major at The University of Texas at Arlington. Arauz is expected to graduate in the spring of 2018 with his B.A. and a certificate in Emerging Media Technology.
  • A $1,500 scholarship was awarded to Corrie Coleman, a journalism major at Baylor University. A rising junior, Coleman has been on the dean’s list each semester of her college career.

Administered by Communities Foundation of Texas, the scholarships were formally announced this evening during the Press Club’s Annual Membership Meeting.

Scott Goldstein, as president of the Press Club board, was included in the grant decision-making process with the foundation’s scholarship board.

“The Press Club is continuing to build on our renewed visibility and momentum thanks to my predecessors and our board members,” said Goldstein. “We had another successful year, with several big events, capping it all off with a record turnout at our annual Legends of Journalism program in June. Everything we do is geared toward raising funds to support our mission, which includes providing scholarships for the next generation of journalists.”

The Press Club of Dallas supports journalism in all forms, and annually makes a financial contribution to the foundation to award scholarships to students who have graduated from a high school in the North Texas area, completed at least 45 hours of collegiate coursework, and are currently pursuing a college degree in the communications field, to include traditional and new media, including print and broadcast journalism, public relations and advertising.

Applications for scholarships are taken in the spring of each year and are one-year scholarships. For more information about the scholarship program and/or background on this year’s recipients, contact or go to Communities Foundation of Texas website: Communities Foundation of Texas.

About the Press Club of Dallas:

The Dallas Press Club is a tax exempt, 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, founded in 1948 with the mission to support journalism in all its forms. The Dallas chapter produces events to support the mission of the Press Club, raise awareness about journalism and for scholarship funds for North Texas students. The Press Club of Dallas serving five counties in Dallas, is an evolving organization of journalists, public relations practitioners, and affiliated professionals in the North Texas region, committed to promoting the fundamental tenets of communication, journalism and First Amendment freedoms. If you would like more information on how to become a member of the Press Club of Dallas, please visit: Press Club of Dallas

About Communities Foundation of Texas:

As the largest community foundation in Texas and one of the largest in the nation, Communities Foundation of Texas (CFT) works with families, companies and nonprofits to strengthen our community through a variety of charitable funds and strategic grantmaking initiatives. CFT is committed to serving and understanding donor needs, expertly handling complex gifts, wisely managing charitable funds, and leveraging its community knowledge to increase charitable impact. The foundation professionally manages nearly 1,000 charitable funds and has awarded over $1.7 billion in grants since its founding in 1953.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *