Shaken + Stirred: The Search for The Official Cocktail of VisitDallas

Shaken, stirred, muddled, and mixed—and everything in between—Savor Dallas’s popular Shaken + Stirred festival event returns for a festive soiree this fall, presented by VisitDallas. Seven of the city’s best mixologists will sling their best drinks and battle it out to be The Official Cocktail of VisitDallas 2018. Enjoy a truly uncommon experience with cocktail […]

By |December 2nd, 2017|0 Comments

17 news organizations and their staffs honored at inaugural Hugh Aynesworth Awards

DALLAS, TX (Dec. 1) – Ten Texas news staffs were awarded top prizes last night at the first-ever Hugh Aynesworth Awards for Excellence in Journalism, sponsored by the Press Club of Dallas.

WFAA-TV Channel 8 sports anchor Dale Hansen emceed the event, held at the Sixth Floor Museum, and attended by about 150 people.  Press Club […]

By |December 2nd, 2017|PCD News, Press Releases|0 Comments

The Hugh Aynesworth Awards for Excellence In Journalism

Presented to Texas journalists and their organizations for outstanding investigative, spot news and feature reporting, as well as photography and videography, during calendar year 2016

This competition is open to journalists and their news outlets in the following categories:

Daily newspapers – 3 circulation groups
Television stations – 3 market areas
Radio stations – 3 market […]

By |November 30th, 2017|0 Comments

David Ignatius – The Quantum Spy

Presenting Sponsor – Cher & David Jacobs
Sponsor: American Airlines Group

KRLD Promotional Sponsor: Money Matters with Ken Moraif and Bank of America

Media Sponsor: The Dallas Morning News and KERA

 (Books included in ticket price)

David Ignatius of The Washington Post has been a pundit powerhouse of page and screen for twenty-five years. After graduating magna cum laude from Harvard College in 1973, […]

By |November 29th, 2017|0 Comments

Walter Isaacson – Leonardo da Vinci


Walter Isaacson is a celebrated journalist, biographer, intellectual leader, and humanist. He has been CEO of the Aspen Institute since 2003 and previously was editor of TIME Magazine and CEO of CNN.

He is currently serving as University Professor in the history department at Tulane University in his hometown of New Orleans. In 2005, he was […]

By |November 28th, 2017|0 Comments

Friendsgiving Happy Hour

Join us for the Friendsgiving Happy Hour – 15% of all proceeds will go to the Press Club of Dallas.

By |November 21st, 2017|0 Comments

Now accepting nominations for the 2018 Anthony Shadid Award

Nominations due January 8

The Center for Journalism Ethics at the University of Wisconsin-Madison seeks nominations for the Anthony Shadid Award for Journalism Ethics. Now in its seventh year, the Shadid Award recognizes ethical decisions in reporting stories in any journalistic medium, including, print, broadcast and digital, by those working for established news organizations or publishing […]

By |November 11th, 2017|PCD News|0 Comments

Bob Schieffer – Overload: Finding the Truth in Today’s Deluge of News


KRLD Presenting Sponsor: Money Matters with Ken Moraif and Bank of America

In partnership with KRLD

Over his four-plus decades at CBS, Bob Schieffer served as a weekend anchor and host of Face the Nation, and became one of the few reporters to cover all four major Washington beats: The White House, Congress, State Department, and Pentagon. […]

By |November 7th, 2017|0 Comments

September 2017 Board Meeting Agenda / Minutes

The meeting was called to order at 4:18 PM on September 26th by President Cary Broussard
Visit Dallas (325 N. Saint Paul St, Suite 700)

Attending: Cary Broussard, Martha Tiller, Barry Hoffman, Hugh Aynesworth, Lauren Reed, Ayona Anderson, Frank Librio, Jo Ann Holt, Tristan Hallman, Scott Goldstein, Kevin Farrell

Excused Absence: Scott Keenan, Cory Smith

Pre-Board Meeting Committee Discussion:


By |October 27th, 2017|Board Minutes|0 Comments

August 2017 Board Meeting Agenda / Minutes

Cary Broussard called the meeting to order at 7 p.m.

Attending: Ayona Anderson, Hugh Aynesworth, Cary Broussard, Jo Ann Holt-Causey, Scott Goldstein, Tristan Hallman, Barry Hoffman, Frank Librio, Lauren Reed, Martha Tiller
Excused Absence: Angela Madison, Kevin Ferrell, Cory Smith

Approval of Minutes: July 2017

Motion made by Jo Ann Holt-Causey and seconded by Barry Hoffman. Motion […]

By |October 27th, 2017|Board Minutes|0 Comments

Marketing Legends Lecture and Awards Banquet

2017 Honoree: David Meerman Scott

Registration: 5:45 p.m. – 6:30 p.m., JSOM Atrium
Parking details will be provided several days prior to the events.

Lecture: 6:30 p.m. – 7:25 p.m., Davidson Auditorium
Honoree David Meerman Scott will present Be Fearless: Real-Time Marketing and PR Get Results

Cocktail Reception: 7:30 p.m. – 8:10 p.m., JSOM Executive Dining Room, 1.606

Banquet and Award […]

By |October 26th, 2017|0 Comments

Vivian Castleberry, Dallas Journalist, Dies at 95

We mourn and honor Vivian Castleberry, an inspiring journalist, friend, writer and editor for the Dallas Times Herald. Vivian died Wednesday.

After retiring from The Herald in 1984, Castleberry founded Peacemakers Inc., and was a founder of the Women’s Center of Dallas, the Women’s Issues Network, the Family Place and the Dallas Women’s Foundation. She was […]

By |October 6th, 2017|Uncategorized|0 Comments