Off the Record

/Off the Record

NEWS: Long-time Press Club member Jimmie Lovell has died

By |May 30th, 2017|

President’s Message – Scott Goldstein

By |October 30th, 2016|

Dallas Press Club’s “Cowboys Kickoff” event plays to packed house

By |September 11th, 2016|

Starting Foursome: “Cowboys Kickoff” panelists Brad Sham, Kristi Scales and Babe Laufenberg, with moderator Mike Doocy over center.

Photos: Ed Bark

Author: ED BARK
@unclebarkycom on Twitter

Event Photo Album

No one directly quoted one of Tom Petty’s enduring hits during Wednesday night’s spirited and packed “Cowboys Kickoff” event.

Press Club of Dallas honors new group of North Texas Legends at packed event

By |June 17th, 2016|

Reunited: Previous honoree Gloria Campos & honoree John McCaa.

Photos: Ed Bark

Author: ED BARK
@unclebarkycom on Twitter
When in doubt, print the legend.

No further embellishment is needed, though, for Thursday night’s sold out event at the downtown Dallas Sixth Floor Museum. The Press […]

NEWS: North Texas Legends in Journalism to be Honored on June 9th

By |May 9th, 2016|

NEWS: CBS Newsman Bob Shieffer Honored In Dallas

By |April 16th, 2016|

Bob Shieffer will be helping with election coverage on CBS this fall.

Bob Schieffer in fine form at Press Club of Dallas tribute

By |April 13th, 2016|

Photos: Ed Bark

Author: ED BARK
@unclebarkycom on Twitter

No one thought to give him an armload of long-stemmed roses. But the verbal bouquets kept coming at Monday night’s salute to Texas journalism giant Bob Schieffer.

Presented by the revitalized Press Club of Dallas, “Bob Schieffer Milestones: A North Texas Tribute” drew a […]

Press Club of Dallas Mourns Passing of Jim Phillips

By |January 6th, 2016|

“Most press club chapters are designed to strengthen local relationships in the media and fundamental tenets of journalism in their respective regions. And then there are the times that cause all chapters to recognize a moment like this one – the disappointing loss of Texas journalism legend, Jim Phillips.

“Locally, Jim Phillips was a TCU graduate and […]

STUDY: Millennials Will Pay for “Content” But Not News

By |October 10th, 2015|

Much to the chagrin of serious news organizations still finagling with their dreaded paywall, thinking people will actually climb that thing for a monthly fee, there is a study out from our friends at the American Press Institute that confirms publishers’ worst fears—young people will dole out the cash to be aware, just not for their […]

RECAP: “Breaking from News: Byron Harris Unplugged”

By |October 6th, 2015|

The Press Club of Dallas hosted BREAKING FROM NEWS: Byron Harris Unplugged. This event celebrated Harris’ more than 40 years of reporting and investigative journalism at WFAA.

Byron Harris’ investigative reporting has been the focal point of countless awards in journalism, including multiple Peabody, Murrow and DuPont Columbia University Awards. His work has even been featured nationally, […]

Can PR Breathe Life Into the Newspaper Death Watch?

By |September 17th, 2015|

If you have been in PR, you get to know reporters as more than people on the other end of a phone or email. You realize they are important to your local outlet; that these individuals do more than primp before getting on camera or check their AP stylebook before posting a long article.

These are […]

A Year in Review and Look Ahead

By |September 2nd, 2015|

Download Press Club Year in Review 2015

Year in Review and A Look Ahead


Niki McCuistion – President 2014-2015

Frank J. Librio, Jr. – President 2015-2016

Dear Press Club Members and Guests,

For those of you who attended our 2015 Annual Meeting on August 25 – thank you!

We’d like to see more members engaged and participate in club activities. We also […]