Board Minutes

May 2017 Board Meeting Agenda / Minutes

July 28, 2017

[fullwidth background_color=”” background_image=”” background_parallax=”none” parallax_speed=”0.3″ enable_mobile=”no” background_repeat=”no-repeat” background_position=”left top” video_url=”” video_aspect_ratio=”16:9″ video_webm=”” video_mp4=”” video_ogv=”” video_preview_image=”” overlay_color=”” overlay_opacity=”0.5″ video_mute=”yes” video_loop=”yes” fade=”no” border_size=”0px” border_color=”” border_style=”” padding_top=”20″ padding_bottom=”20″ padding_left=”0″ padding_right=”0″ hundred_percent=”no” equal_height_columns=”no” hide_on_mobile=”no” menu_anchor=”” class=”” id=””][fusion_text]

Board Meeting Minutes
Tuesday, May 30, 2017
4:12 – 5:31 p.m.
The Dallas Entrepreneur Center

President Scott Goldstein called the meeting to order at 4:12 p.m.

  • Attending: Barry Hoffman, Ed Bark, Michael Grant, Jo Ann Holt-Causey, Frank Librio (via telephone), Scott Goldstein, Hugh Aynesworth, Lauren Reed, Tristan Hallman, Angela Madison, Martha Tiller, Kevin Ferrell, Ayona Anderson, Administrator David Wolpert
  • Excused Absence: Cary Broussard, Cory Smith

Approval of Minutes: April 25, 2017

Motion made by Jo Ann Holt-Causey and seconded by Barry Hoffman. Motion approved.

Approval of April 2017 Financials

Motion made by Angela Madison and seconded by Jo Ann Holt-Causey. Motion approved.

Annual Scholarship Allocation: $5,000

Motion made by Angela Madison and seconded by Jo Ann Holt-Causey. Motion approved.

Recent Event Re-Cap

Paul Quinn College – First 100 Days

Scott Goldstein requested feedback on lower attendance versus higher ticket distribution.

Observations included time of day and location and absence of reserved students. Angela Madison recommended looking at a breakdown of the analytics of the attendance.

Hugh Aynesworth Awards for Excellence in Journalism Update

Angela Madison is underway with social media planning and recommended an insert in the North Texas Legends’ event program. Barry Hoffman reported he contacted the Regional AP and firmed up their contact of radio, TV and print in the state of Texas, a prototype of the award has been done. Mr. Hoffman announced the entry deadline date is now August 1, 2017 and the goal for 2016 award winners is 10.

North Texas Legends Awards

Ed Bark reported on the current status for the June 3, 2017 event. The report included:

  • Event program has been completed
  • Walk-through of the venue with Michael Cheever and Café Momentum
  • Power-Point will be completed May 31
  • 22 sponsorships sold, 7 more than prior year
  • 96 individual tickets sold
  • 180 attendees as of this writing
  • The Mayor of Dallas will be attending and making remarks at the end of the program
  • All 13 honorees will be present
  • Show order has been sent to Scott Goldstein
  • Scott Goldstein is working on emcee remarks with Cory Smith
  • Check-in protocol established
  • Any remaining tickets will be for volunteers and walk-up sales
  • Board members should arrive at venue at 5:15 p.m.


President Scott Goldstein adjourned the meeting at 5:51 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Michael Grant for Cary Broussard, Secretary[/fusion_text][/fullwidth]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *